2018 Predator Pro-Am Tour Stop #7

Posted 5/22/2018 in Events & Features


By Skip Maloney – AzB Staff

Deocharran goes undefeated to take Predator title, a week ahead of Ginky Memorial

Ambi Estevez (4th), Matt Klein (2nd), Matt Harricharan (3rd), and Troy Deocharran (1st)


Troy Deocharran and Matt Klein battled twice during the Predator Pro Am Tour’s stop on the weekend of May 19-20. Both matches were determined by a last, single game; one in the hot seat and one again, in the finals. The $1,000-added event drew 45 entrants to The Spot in Nanuet, NY.

They met first, once Deocharran had sent Carlos Ocheign to the loss side 7-2 in one winners’ side semifinal, and Klein had defeated Marisol Palacios 8-4 in the other one. In their first of two, racing to 7, Deocharran claimed the hot seat 7-6, and waited for Klein to return from the semifinals.

On the loss side, Palacios ran into Ambi Estevez, who was facing his third straight female opponent, after downing Suzzie Wong and Erin Bechner, both 7-4. Ocheign drew Matt Harricharan, who’d eliminated Abel Rosario 7-6 and Gary O’Callaghan 7-4. That segment of the loss-side bracket was running a little long, and it would cause a few delays leading up to the quarterfinals.

In two diametrically opposite ways, Harricharan and Estevez advanced to the quarterfinals. Harricharan survived a double hill fight against Ocheign, while Estevez was chalking them up, one right after another, on his way to a shutout over Palacios; the last woman standing.

Harricharan and Estevez then locked up in a double hill, quarterfinal battle, eventually won by Harricharan. Klein put a stop to Harricharan’s loss-side run with an 8-5 win in the semifinals.

The Deocharran/Klein re-match was on in a battle to claim the event title. For the second time, they fought back and forth to double hill; this time, racing just a little further, to 9. Deocharran closed it out to complete his undefeated run through the field.


Top Amateur Finishers and Payouts

1st: Troy Deocharran – $1,100

2nd: Matt Klein – $800

3rd: Matthew Harricharan – $500

4th: Ambi Estevez – $300

5th-6th: Carlos Ocheign, Marisol Palacios – $200

7th-8th: Erin Bechner, Gary O’Callaghan  – $150



Rich Hourihan (2nd) and Max Watanabe (1st)


A Second Chance tournament drew 8 entrants, with Max Watanabe defeating Rich Hourihan 7-4 in the finals.


Second Chance Finishers and Payouts

1st: Max Watanabe – $100

2nd: Rich Hourihan – $60


Tour director Tony Robles (and yours truly, the author of this piece) thanked Rhys and Lenore Chen, owners of The Spot and their staff for their hospitality. The next stop on the Predator Pro Am Tour will be the 8th Annual George “Ginky” Sansouci Memorial Tournament, scheduled for this coming Memorial Day weekend (May 26-28). The Predator Tour will share production responsibilities for the “Ginky” Memorial with the Tri-State and Mezz Tours. The event will feature both an Amateur and Pro Tournament, each with $2,000-added.


Tour Sponsors:

Predator Cues

Ozone Billiards

Delta-13 Racks

The National Amateur Pool League

The DeVito Team


Gotham City Technologies

Billiards Press


Media Sponsors:


Billiards Digest

Inside Pool Magazine

Pool & Billiard Magazine


Room Sponsors:

Gotham City Billiard Club

Steinway Billiards

Cue Bar

Raxx Pool Room

Murphy’s Cue Club

Amsterdam Billiards



Tour Staff:

Gail Robles

William Finnegan

Mandy Wu

Irene Kim

Copyright © 2014 Predator Products. All Rights Reserved. Predator, Poison and Uni-Loc are registered trademarks of Predator Group.
Rock My Image - Online Marketing