2016 Predator Pro-Am Tour Stop #21

Posted 1/10/2017 in Events & Features, Pro Pool

By Skip Maloney

Rodriguez goes undefeated to take Predator Tour finale


Adalberto Nazario (4th), Elvis Rodriguez (1st), Brooke Meyer (2nd), Paul Carpenter (3rd)


When the Predator Tour began its season finale event on the weekend of November 26-27, three players among the tour’s “A” players were 15 points apart in Player of the Year standings. Arturo Reyes was at the top, but made an early exit, leaving the spot open for either Brooke Meyer (#2) or Elvis Rodriguez (#3). Rodriguez sent Meyer to the loss side, and though Meyer would come back from the loss side to face him in the finals, Rodriguez defeated him a second time to claim the event title and the award as the tour’s “A” Player of the Year. The $1,000-added event drew 48 entrants to Steinway Billiards in Astoria (Queens), NY.

Rodriguez and Meyer met first in a winners’ side quarterfinal, won by Rodriguez, who moved on to face Shawn Sookhai in a winners’ side semifinal, as Paul Carpenter and Lucas Fracasso-Verner squared off in the other one. Rodriguez downed Sookhai 7-4, and in the hot seat match, faced Carpenter, who’d sent Fracasso-Verner over 7-5 to join Sookhai. Rodriguez claimed the hot seat 9-5 over Carpenter, and waited on what would turn out to be the match that decided who would be the tour’s “A” Player of the Year.

On the loss side, Fracasso-Verner and Sookhai walked into their second straight loss. Fracasso-Verner picked up Adalberto Nazario, who’d defeated Xavier Romero, double hill, and Jose Kuilan 7-5 to reach him. Sookhai drew Meyer, who, following his defeat at the hands of Rodriguez, had eliminated Duc Lam and Nick Liberator, both 7-5. Meyer moved into the quarterfinals with a 7-2 win over Sookhai, and was joined by Nazario, who’d eliminated Fracasso-Verner 7-5.

The quarterfinal matchup came within a game of double hill (9-7), and advanced Meyer to the semifinals against Carpenter. A double hill match ensued, and eventually sent Meyer to a re-match against Rodriguez in the finals. In the modified race-to-7 format of the final, Rodriguez had to reach seven games ahead of Meyer to win the match. Had Meyer reached seven first, the race would have extended to nine games. Rodriguez reached seven games comfortably ahead by four to claim the event and “A” Player of the Year title.



2nd Chance:  Rob Pole (1st) and Abel Rosario (2nd)


A Second Chance event drew 14 entrants and concluded with a double hill final. Rob Pole defeated Abel Rosario to claim the Second Chance title.

While the regular tour season ended with this final event, Raxx Billiards in West Hempstead, NY will host the annual Tour Championships, scheduled for Dec. 3-4. Only players who have participated in five events during the tour’s regular season will be eligible for this $9,500-added (minimum) event.


Top Finishers and Payouts

1st: Elvis Rodriguez – $1,450

2nd: Brooke Meyer – $925

3rd: Paul Carpenter – $600

4th: Adalberto – $400

5th/6th: Lukas Fracasso-Verner, Shawn Sookhai – $200

7th/8th: Jose Kuilan, Nick Liberatos – $100


2nd Chance Top Finishers

1st: Rob Pole

2nd: Abel Rosario


Tour Sponsors:

Predator Cues

Ozone Billiards

Delta-13 Racks

The National Amateur Pool League

The DeVito Team


Gotham City Technologies

Billiards Press


Media Sponsors:


Billiards Digest

Inside Pool Magazine

Pool & Billiard Magazine

Room Sponsors:

Gotham City Billiard Club

Steinway Billiards

Cue Bar

Raxx Pool Room

Murphy’s Cue Club

Amsterdam Billiards


Tour Staff:

Gail Robles

William Finnegan

Mandy Wu

Irene Kim

Copyright © 2014 Predator Products. All Rights Reserved. Predator, Poison and Uni-Loc are registered trademarks of Predator Group.
Rock My Image - Online Marketing